JMT 2021 – planning update

Last weekend I placed orders with Pack-It Gourmet, Amazon, and REI, and beginning Thursday boxes started arriving. Saturday I received the final confirmation, everything I ordered should be delivered.

Today was “Christmas.” I have all the food items except tortillas (which I’ll purchase at the last minute) and any treats to include in the resupplies. And I have all items on the gear list, though need to check and refresh my first aid and toilet kits. Once I get to that level of detail it is quite likely I’ll need to make a run to the market or Walgreen’s.

This is all quite unusual for me; that is have all my stuff nearly four weeks before I head out. Last year I had everything down just over a day and half before I left. Resupply has a way of forcing early prep.

And training is going okay. I do a pretty good job of staying fit year-round, but the COVID gym closures set my lifting back. I don’t have a barbell and plates in my home setup.

I’ve built back to 100% of my pre-Covid strength with exception of squats and deadlifts which are 90-95%. Aerobically, I can sustain a heart rate at 150 bpm for 30 minutes, and recover in under 10, and added “distance” running once morning temps reached the upper-20’s. 10k is a comfortable distance, 8.5 miles is my longest so far. I’ve been ramping slowly. I started too fast a couple years ago and banged up my knees; I didn’t run at all for close to 2 years. My endurance on the trail is better when I run, even better when I can rip half-marathon distances. I’ll keep with the 10k for now; don’t want to over-do it and start the hike hurt, and I’ll continue increasing my distance after the hike.

So in all, feeling pretty good with my prep.

This entry was posted in Backpacking. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to JMT 2021 – planning update

  1. Pingback: John Muir Trail 2021 | Steve's place

Leave a comment