The Purpose of Leadership

What is my fundamental purpose as a leader?  In a very narrow sense it is to get results, or create abundance, for my company.  But John 10:10 asserts something bigger:  “I am come that they might have life, and that they might have it more abundantly.”  So if I get it right, not only does my team create abundance at work, I allow them and if proper help them to also create abundance at home and in every endeavor of their lives.

How?

Well, people want a boss they can trust, a leader of unquestioned integrity.  We are given the secret to this in Genesis 1:27:  “So God created human beings in His own image.”  This means when my team looks at me to watch what I do and how I do it, and listens to what I say and how I say it, they should see the strength, the discipline, the love, and morality of Jesus Christ.

And people also want a boss who accepts them as they are.  I don’t judge my motives, so neither should I judge theirs.  And they want honest assessments of their performance so it is incumbent I tell them the truth.  John 13:34 puts it this way:  “As I have loved you, so you must love one another.”  People deserve and respond to unconditional love.

This is the calling and the truth to exalted lives and outstanding business results.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

