Created in His image

So God created human beings in his own image. In the image of God he created them; male and female he created them.  Genesis 1:27

Why were we, why was I created in the image of God?  I had never given this much thought until deep in prayer on my 2010 summer backpacking trip.  Then it was made clear.

I am made in the image of God because I am to be a window through which others see Christ in all that I do.

This is a great challenge.  At the moment I was thinking of my team at work.  But as I considered more deeply, Who does my wife see?  Who do my children see?

December 31, my dad passed away.  And though I was prepared for his passing, I was consumed by 2nd thoughts of my inadequacy as a son, as a husband, and as a father.  I harbored these thoughts for several weeks, then on a hike in Grand Canyon I took sufficient time talking with God and was granted some wisdom.

We all fall short of the glory of God.  We all fall short of being a perfect son or daughter, father or mother, husband or wife.  The fact is, we aren’t perfect.  But the truth is, we are created in His image, and Christ died for us.  Yes!  Despite our failings, we are “good enough” to be considered God’s children and “good enough” to be loved by Him.  And for the vast majority of us, so too are we to our parents, are we to our spouses, and are we to our children.

Who do we see in our parents if not Christ?  Perhaps, because we are created in His image, we are wired to see Christ in them, and our children are wired expecting to see Christ in us.  By being a window to Christ we are build a virtuous cycle upon which society stands.

And if we as children do not, if our children do not see Christ, then what?  Our image of God is then distorted, His love is shrouded, and we see at worst evil, at best dispassion, and sow the seeds of rebellion.  This may not be the only reason, but I believe it is a big reason why generation upon generation can be lost to God.

In this wisdom I cried.  I cried that my dad was gone.  I cried that I was blessed to have a father in whom I could see the love of God.  And I cried in my declaration, and recommitment that my family, my team at work, and others will see Christ in me.

I am created in His image.  Wow, how awesome is that!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Created in His image

  1. Bill says:

    Thanks for the encouragement. Just for the record…attempting r2r2r on AUGUSTw…
    23. Hot, I know

Leave a Reply

