Humphrey’s Peak

I decided to take a nice 20 mile day hike up and around the San Francisco Peaks.  Left the house at 3:30am and was on the trail at quarter to 7.  My plan was to hike up the Humphrey’s Peak Trail and summit before the monsoon thunderstorms kicked in, and then return via the Weatherford and Kachina Trails.  I reached the Weatherford Trail junction in an hour forty five, only to learn that the Weatherford Trail is closed due to fires (so my hike would be just up and back).  I summited 45 minutes later to, a first for me, clear skies and little wind; could actually see Grand Canyon.  Rested a few minutes, took some photos and started down.  Halfway back it started raining; my early start paid off.

 

This entry was posted in Hiking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

